CSU Students at the Colorado State Legislature

Dr. John Straayer has kicked off another year of the Department’s Colorado Legislative Internship program. As he has done for more than 30 years, Dr. Straayer will accompany the students to the State Legislature every Tuesday and Thursday throughout the spring semester where they will work with legislators, lobbyists and committees. More than 1000 students […]

Three Political Scientists Receive Awards from the College of Liberal Arts

The College of Liberal Arts recently announced winners of several college-wide awards and we are proud that three members of the department were recognized for their achievements:   Megan DeMasters (PhD student) received the College of Liberal Arts Excellence in Teaching Award for Graduate Teaching     Assistants. In addition to serving as a graduate teaching […]

Dr. Susan Opp honored by CSU student athletes

Dr. Susan Opp recently received the Water Pik “Excellence in Education” award for her dedicated service and excellence in teaching.  She was nominated by student athletes as a professor that has had a positive impact on their educational experience.  She received a plaque and was recognized during half-time of the CSU football game on November […]

Professor Courtenay Daum Selected to Give the Patsy Boyer Memorial Lecture

The CSU Center for Women’s Studies & Gender Research selected Dr. Courtenay Daum to give the annual Patsy Boyer Memorial Lecture on October 22, 2015.  Her talk was on “The War on Solicitation and Intersectional Subjection:  How quality of life policing is used as a tool to control transgender populations.”

The Department Welcomes Two New Faculty

This fall the department is pleased to welcome two new faculty members Peter Harris’s teaching and research interests include international security, U.S. foreign policy, and international relations theory. This semester Peter is teaching POLS 232 International Relations and POLS 437 International Security. Allison White’s teaching and research interests are in the area of comparative politics, focusing […]

Professor Kyle Saunders receives APSA award

Professor Kyle Saunders is the recipient of the 2015 Paul Lazersfeld Best Paper Award in Political Communication to be presented at the upcoming American Political Science Association  annual meeting. The paper, “Conspiracy Endorsement as Motivated Reasoning: The moderating role of political knowledge and trust,” is co-authored with Christina Farhart (former MA student) and Joanne Miller, both […]

Dick Hartman (MA 1973) has died

Colorado State University and the Political Science Department lost a good friend to cancer July 30, 2015.  Richard “Dick” Hartman earned his M.A. in our department in 1973.  His focus was on natural resources and environment and he studied with Professors Norman Wengert, Phil Foss and others.  Dick did an internship in the Colorado Department […]

Political Science Professor Susan Opp Awarded APSA Pracademic Fellowship at EPA

Political Science Associate Professor Susan Opp has been awarded an American Political Science Association Pracademic Fellowship, supported by the Beryl Radin Pracademic Fund, for the Spring 2016 semester.  During this time she will be working with the Office of Policy at the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in Washington, DC.   In this position, Dr. Opp will […]

Professor Steve Mumme receives College of Liberal Arts Faculty Development Award

Steve Mumme was one of several CLA faculty to receive College of Liberal Arts Faculty Development Awards at the College’s spring meeting on April 8th.  The award will help Professor Mumme complete a book that documents the development of governance of water resources along the U.S.-Mexico border. More specifically, the book examines transboundary water resources […]